• peaksport

Meet the Team: Andy Woodward

Name: Andy Woodward

Company Role: Apprentice Tutor

Favourite quote: Support the Support Band – Quote by me. Based on the fact that when you go to gigs you should aim to see all the bands on the bill as they deserve to be heard as much as the main act.


What do you do at PEAK?

In my role as a tutor I support the development of Apprentice Sports Coaches.


What are your credentials/past experience, for working in your position?

After serving 22 years in the Royal Air Force, with some of that time spent in Training Development, I moved into Sports coaching. I have coached athletes from grassroots to International level across a number of sports, both in the technical side and Strength and Conditioning. I also spent a few years as a Coach Educator for England Athletics.


What’s your Archetype?

I am a doer and a helper with an ability to think outside the box. I enjoy seeing others develop and am happy to facilitate their journey.


What do you like about working at PEAK/What are you looking forward to when working at PEAK?

I like the progressive nature of the company, since I started work we have begun to implement changes, suggested by me, to enhance the apprenticeship programme. I am looking forward to getting out to observe the coaches in a practical environment and seeing them develop their skills.


What’s your background?

I grew up in South Devon and, at the age of 15 moved to the Orkney islands due to my fathers work. Left home at 18 to join the RAF.


What are the values that drive you?

Respect for those around you and an understanding that everyone is different.


Your top 3 favourite Podcasts/Books?

I enjoy reading Jo Nesbo and Lee Child Books. Jo Nesbos’ ‘Harry Hole’ series is awesome as is Lee Childs ‘Jack Reacher’ series. I have a number of Sport related reference books which I delve into when needed as well as reading research to enhance my coaching knowledge. Not a big podcast listener as prefer to listen to music.


What do you enjoy doing when you are not working?

I am a very keen snowboarder and participate as much as I can, either in the UK Snowdomes or abroad. I also enjoy listening to Music (mostly Rock and Heavy Rock) as well as going to gigs whenever I can.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All